Durham Region Labour Council – Endorsed Candidates

Durham Region Labour Council – Endorsed Candidates

Big Announcement to Make Today.



Durham Region Labour Council releases list of endorsed candidates

OSHAWA, ONT – The Durham Region Labour Council released the list of candidates they are supporting in the October 22 municipal and school board elections on Labour Day. Decisions were made by labour council delegates from many different unions with broad representation.

“Local governments have a profound impact on the day-to-day lives of workers and their families and on the communities they work and live in. That’s why Labour Council and unions are working hard to building strong, productive relationships between unions and local governments,” said Durham Region Labour Council President, John MacDonald.

The Labour Council did not endorse a full slate of candidates in each region and ward. MacDonald explained “we looked at the survey responses, who has voted on the progressive side of issues in the past, and we were disappointed that it meant in certain areas we did not feel comfortable endorsing anyone as we took hard lines on issues such as human rights, contracting out, privatization, and P3s. We focused on quality over quantity and on supporting candidates who share our values and objectives.”

Durham Region Labour Council has worked in solidarity with labour and community groups across Ontario for over 75 years and is building a plan to see more endorsements in 2022. President John MacDonald stated, “We will work hard to find and train candidates, specifically marginalized and equity seeking candidates, over the next four years, building a progressive base into the next municipal election. We thank everyone who participated in our endorsement process.”

Durham Region Labour Council is the voice of working people in Durham Region and has sought to build a community that values human dignity, basic fairness, and social justice since 1942.

The endorsed candidates are:


Ajax School Board Trustee:

Donna Edwards


Clarington City Council Ward 1 – Sami Elhajjeh

Clarington School Board Trustee:

Cathy Abraham
Sarah Bobka

Oshawa   City Ward 1 – Robert Stevenson
Oshawa   City Ward 2 – Gail Bates
Oshawa   Regional Ward 2 – Jim Van Allen
Oshawa   City Ward 3 – Ethan Eastwood
Oshawa   Regional Ward 3 – John Shields
Oshawa   City Ward 4 – Derek Giberson
Oshawa   Regional Ward 4 – Doug Sanders
Oshawa   City Ward 5 – Kim Beatty

Oshawa School Board Trustee:
Darlene Forbes
Ashley Noble


Pickering City Ward 1 – Maurice Brenner
Pickering Regional Ward 1 – Musa Mansuar
Pickering City Ward 2 – Sari Sarieddine
Pickering City Ward 3 – Nadia Peerzada

Pickering School Board Trustee:

Chris Braney


Scugog Regional Council – Marc Gibbons

North School Board Trustee:

Carolyn Morton


Whitby City Ward 4 – Carleen Blissett
Whitby Regional Council – Christine Winters

Whitby School Board Trustee
Niki Lundquist
Chris Thatcher

For more information, call:
President John MacDonald  – 905.424.2776
Support Staff Linda McLaughlin – 905-579-5188